Becoming a mum is like entering a new dimension

Becoming a mum is like entering a new dimension

Having a child is a life changing event. You love this little creature with all your heart but especially in the first weeks it’s all about survival.

No one prepared me for that. Maybe not all women experience what I have but from what I have been reading online I definitely am not alone in this.

Luckily I don’t have post partum depression (or so I think, so far at least) but I do suffer from anxieties occasionally.

The best way to describe what I’m feeling is as if I have entered a different dimension. Are you a sci-fi TV series person? Have you watched Fringe? Remember when Olivia entered into a parallel dimension of her own reality? That’s exactly how I feel.

My son is 2 1/2 months old and he is the light of my life. But life so far is indeed exhausting.

I have been lucky having my mum visiting and staying with us for almost a month which has been a huge help.

I cannot point this out enough, if anyone is offering help, being your mum, your MIL, any relative or friend take it. Don’t feel any guilt. Your baby loves you and you need to rest and relax even if it’s for a sort period of time.

Now excuse me while I’m entering my alternative dimension.

Leave a Reply

