Introduction to solid foods for babies: Disaster

Introduction to solid foods for babies: Disaster

My dear baby is 4 1/2 months old and here (Sweden) they suggest to start introducing solids as of now. Not as a complete meal but as a way to get them to taste foods, especially vegetables. I personally think it’s too soon but nonetheless I did try to introduce him and this is how it went.

On the blog title I write “Disaster”. You might think that the whole introduction thing went really bad and baby didn’t want to have anything to do with it.

Actually no. The disaster thing goes to the mum. Yup all me.

I consider myself a descent cook but in this household it’s my boyfriend that does all the cooking or …to be fair… 90% of it. He loves cooking and he is very creative. I mean we are talking about Masterchef material here so who am I to tell him to stop?

However, I’m a mum now and I got this urge to contribute more to the kitchen. I have been binge watching Jamie Oliver and Gordon Ramsay on Youtube to start  learning the basics.

The fact that I’m greek tells me that I should pay more attention to Greek/Mediterranean cuisine. And I do. I can cook nice greek dishes and Jamie Oliver often makes Mediterranean dishes so that’s cool.

I just need to polish a bit the recipes that I already know from my mum and aunts and also I really like the modern cuisine and how the whole Masterchef franchise has introduced, to me at least, a modern way to cook.

I can make a killer tzatziki, but that’s not enough.

Back to our subject. My boy and his solids. So I went to the store and I bought fresh carrots and potatoes. I boiled them and I used a blender to mix them. I made some carrot puree and some carrot and potatoes combo puree.

The carrot turned out fine. However, the carrot and potatoes turned out to become something that resembled more of a rubber than of baby food. Or maybe a sponge. And it got even worse when I put it in the freezer – you know in an ice cube tray to store it – and then took it out. That was a real sponge.

IMG_20160219_124617

Obviously I should have left some water inside the pot while I was blending them and not remove the water completely.  Right? But oh well. Better luck next time.

Some cook that I am that I can’t even make proper baby food. Sorry my little one. Mummy will try again.

7d4c1c61aa9f74a82433e508a8804266

Leave a Reply

